Skip to content
Everplans Logo

Oregon Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in Oregon, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.


The following people may request death certificates from the state of Oregon:

  • Family members
  • Family members' legal representatives
  • Persons or organizations with a personal or property right
  • Government agencies

When ordering a death certificate, you must state your relationship to the registrant, or your reason for needing the record. If you are a legal representative of a family member, include whom you represent and how they are related to the person named on the record. If you have a personal or property right, explain why you need the record. If you are not eligible to order the record, please include a permission note with the notarized signature of an eligible person.


The fee to search for a death certificate is $20.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate. For each additional copy of the certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $15.00. Checks or money orders should be made payable to "OHA/Vital Records." Cash is not accepted, except if the request is made in person. Fees are not refundable, though fees for additional copies will be refunded if no record can be found.

Required Information

  • Name of the deceased
  • Date of death
  • Place of death
  • Spouse
  • Your relationship to the deceased
  • Reason for needing the record
  • Your phone number
  • Your name
  • Your address
  • Photocopy of current, government-issued photo ID

Submitting Your Request

If the death occurred less than six months ago, contact the vital records office in the county where the death occurred. County contact information is available from the state vital records office at 971-673-1190, or click here for a list of counties and their contact information.

If the death occurred more than six months ago, order the certificate from the state vital records office.

By Mail:
Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:

Oregon Vital Records
P.O. Box 14050
Portland, Oregon 97293-0050

In Person:
You may request a certified death certificate in person from the Vital Records office, located at:

800 NE Oregon Street, Room 205
Portland, OR 97232

The office is open from 8:00 am until 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday. The order counter closes at 4:45 pm. The average wait time to receive a record is 15-20 minutes. Expect longer wait times of 30-45 minutes on Mondays and Fridays and daily from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm. In order to recieve same-day service, orders must be placed by 4:30 pm.

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified Oregon death certificate in English.

Click here to download the application for a certified Oregon death certificate in Spanish.

See our complete list of resources for Oregon.

  • State-By-State Resources
Related Content
  • Everplans Linkedin
  • Everplans Instagram
  • Everplans Facebook
Subscribe to Everplans newsletter
App Store
HIPAA Compliant
ADA Site Compliance
©2024 Everplans
Everplans is not a licensed healthcare provider, medical professional, law firm, or financial advisory firm, and the employees of Everplans are not acting as your healthcare providers, medical professionals, attorneys, or financial advisors.