Skip to content
Everplans Logo

How To Close A LinkedIn Account When Someone Dies

All the information you'll need to delete a LinkedIn account.

Service: LinkedIn is a business-based social networking site owned by Microsoft.

How To Delete An Account: There are two levels of membership offered by LinkedIn—free Basic accounts and paid Premium accounts. A Premium account must first be downgraded to Basic before fully terminated.

Premium Accounts

1. Log in to the LinkedIn account at the company’s homepage.

2. From the user avatar at the upper right, click “Privacy & Settings.”

3. In the top box, under “Account Type,” click “Downgrade or cancel your premium account.”

4. Click the “Continue Cancellation” button below.

Note: If you were directed to the “Downgrade Your Premium Account” page, you may need to click the “Cancel Your Premium Account link first,” then click the “Continue Cancellation” button. If you were directed to the “Cancel Your Premium Account” page, click the “Continue Cancellation” button.

LinkedIn official page on closing a Premium account.

Basic Accounts

1. Log in to the LinkedIn account at the company’s homepage.

2. From the user avatar at the upper right, click “Privacy & Settings.”

3. Click the “Account” tab toward the bottom of the page.

4. Select “Close your account.”

5. Choose the reason for leaving and click the “Continue” button.

6. Click “Verify Account.”

Required Information

  • Email
  • Password

LinkedIn official page on closing a Basic account.

Note: If you don't have the information listed above, please refer to the "Deceased LinkedIn Member - Removing Profile" Help Center page.

Related Article: How To Close Online Accounts

Topics
  • Online Accounts
Related Content