Skip to content
Everplans Logo

Arkansas Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in Arkansas, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.


Arkansas allows release to specific persons who are related to the deceased, his/her designated representatives, academic research groups, and to persons who can demonstrate that they have a right to obtain the record. Death records that are more than 50 years old can be released to the public.


The cost of a certified death certificate is $10.00 for the first copy and $8.00 for each additional copy of the same record that is ordered at the same time. If no record is found or no copy is made, state law requires that the state keep $10.00 for a search fee. You will receive a refund of any amount paid over the required $10.00 search fee.

If you used the "Express Service" with a credit card, both the Express Service fee and the search fee of $10.00 are not refundable. You will receive a credit of any credit card fees paid in excess of the combined search and Express Service fee. Arkansas accepts cash, checks, or money orders made out to Arkansas Department of Health. Do not send cash in the mail.

Required Information

  • Government-issued photo identification
  • Full name of the deceased
  • Date of death
  • County or city of death
  • Name of the funeral home (optional)
  • Requester's relationship to the deceased
  • Requester's reason for requesting the certificate

Submitting Your Request

By Mail:
Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Vital Records Section, Slot 44
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205

By Phone:
Call 866-209-9482 to order death certificates. The service fee and the certificate fee are charged to your credit card (Visa, Master Card, Discover, or American Express). Certificates may be returned overnight for an additional shipment fee.

In Person:
You may order a certified copy of the death record in person from the Arkansas Department of Health, located at:
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
Orders are accepted for same day issuance from 8:00 am until 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified Arkansas death certificate.

See our complete list of resources for Arkansas.

  • State-By-State Resources
Related Content
  • Everplans Linkedin
  • Everplans Instagram
  • Everplans Facebook
Subscribe to Everplans newsletter
App Store
HIPAA Compliant
ADA Site Compliance
©2024 Everplans
Everplans is not a licensed healthcare provider, medical professional, law firm, or financial advisory firm, and the employees of Everplans are not acting as your healthcare providers, medical professionals, attorneys, or financial advisors.