Colorado Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in Colorado, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.

Qualifications

The following people may request death certificates from the state of Colorado:

  • Parents/Step-parents
  • Grandparents and Great-grandparents 
  • Siblings 
  • Spouse/Ex-spouse (with proof of direct and tangible interest)
  • Adult children, step-children or grandchildren 
  • In-laws, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins (if death certificate is needed to administer the deceased's estate, or other direct and tangible interest)
  • Legal representatives of any of the above 
  • Legal representative of the deceased 
  • Decedent's physician 
  • Funeral director 
  • Employer of deceased (so benefits can be processed)
  • Insurance company processing decedent's claim or death benefits 
  • Probate researchers 
  • Genealogists representing immediate family members with appropriate credentials 
  • Creditors 
  • Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible interest when information is needed for determination or protection of a personal or property right 
  • Informant listed on the requested death certificate

Proof of relationship is required (e.g. marriage certificate, birth certificate, court order, etc.) as is one form of the following types of documentation:

  • Alien Registration Receipt/Permanent Resident Card
  • Certificate of U.S. Citizenship
  • Colorado Department of Corrections ID card
  • CO Temporary Driver’s License Form (with hole-punched Driver’s License)
  • Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
  • Foreign Passport
  • Photo Driver’s License
  • Photo ID Card (DMV)
  • School, University or College ID Card (must be current)
  • Temporary Resident Card
  • U.S. B1/B2 Visa card with I-94
  • U.S. Certificate of Naturalization
  • U.S. Citizenship ID Card (I-197)
  • U.S. Military ID Card
  • U.S. Passport

Cost

The fee to search for a death certificate is $17.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate or a "Certificate of Failure to Find." For each additional copy of the certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $10.00. There is a $10.00 credit card convenience charge (excluded for those ordering death certificates in person). Ordering death certificates to be returned via FedEx costs an additional $20.00 and ordering death certificates to be returned via Express Mail costs an additional $18.30 per order. You can pay with check, money order, or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express).

Required Information

  • Full name of deceased
  • Date of death
  • Place of death
  • Reason for request
  • Date of application submission
  • Signature of person making request
  • Your relationship to the deceased
  • Your address
  • Your email address
  • Daytime phone number

Submitting Your Request

By Mail:
Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:

Vital Records Section

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South

HSVRD-VS-A1

Denver, CO 80246-1530

By Fax:
Fax your application (with credit card information) to:

Within continental United States: 800-423-1108

Outside continental United States: +01-303-691-9307

In Person:
Apply in person from these county vital records offices.

You may also apply in person at the state offices of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, located at:

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South

HSVRD-VR-A1

Denver, CO 80246-1530

Office hours are from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday. Same-day service is available until 4:30 pm.

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified Colorado death certificate.