Run your home and life with confidence.
Get started for free today!
Sign Up
Be Organized and Run Your Life with Confidence

Rhode Island Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in Rhode Island, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.

Qualifications

The following people may request death certificates from the state of Rhode Island:

  • Immediate family member
  • Legal guardian
  • An authorized agent of a family member or legal guardian
  • Attorneys-at-law
  • Title examiners
  • Members of legally incorporated genealogical societies conducting their official duties
  • A person requiring information to determine or protect a personal or property right
  • A person who has been granted a court order instructing the registrar to provide the document

Cost

The fee to search for a death certificate is $20.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate. For each additional copy of the certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $15.00. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the "General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island." If obtaining a record from a city or town clerk, payments should be made to the local office. Cash is not accepted. Fees are not refundable.

Required Information

  • Name of the deceased
  • Date of death
  • Place of death
  • Name of spouse/civil union partner/registered domestic partner
  • Mother's name
  • Father's name
  • Your relationship to the deceased
  • The reason for requesting the record
  • Your name
  • Your phone number
  • Your address
  • Photocopy of current, government-issued photo ID

Submitting Your Request

Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:

RI Department of Health

Office of Vital Records

3 Capitol Hill, Room 101

Providence, RI 02908

You can also order a certified death certificate from the county clerk in the county where the death occurred. Click here for a list of county local office locations and contact information.

For an additional $7.00 fee you can request expedited service. Include the additional $7.00 in your payment and write "RUSH" on the outside of the envelope.

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified Rhode Island death certificate.

See our complete list of resources for Rhode Island.

State-By-State Health, Legal, And End-Of-Life Resources

Grief Support & Loss