Skip to content
Everplans Logo

North Carolina Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in North Carolina, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.


The following people may request death certificates from the state of North Carolina:

  • Spouse
  • Sibling
  • Child
  • Parent/step-parent
  • Grandparent
  • Authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative of the deceased (proof required)


The fee to search for a death certificate is $24.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate. For each additional copy of the certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $15.00. For expedited service there is an additional fee of $15.00. For same-day walk-in service there is an additional fee of $15.00. Certified checks or money orders should be made payable to "NC Vital Records." Cash is not accepted, except if the request is made in person. Fees are not refundable.

Required Information

  • Name of the deceased
  • Date of death
  • Age at death
  • Race
  • Location of death
  • Date of birth
  • Your relationship to the deceased
  • Reason for requesting the record
  • Your mailing address
  • Your phone number

Submitting Your Request

By Mail:
Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:

North Carolina Vital Records
1903 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1903

For expedited service write "EXPEDITE" on the outside of the envelope and send to the above address or via UPS or FedEx to:

North Carolina Vital Records
225 North McDowell Street
Raleigh, N.C. 27603-1382

You may also send your request to the Register of Deeds (ROD) office in the county where the death occurred. To find the contact information for the ROD office in the county where the death occurred, click here.

In Person:
You may request a certified death certificate in person by going to the North Carolina Vital Records office, located at:

North Carolina Vital Records (Cooper Memorial Health Building)
225 North McDowell Street
Raleigh, NC 27603-1382

Walk-in service is available from 8:00 am until 3:00 pm, Monday through Friday. There is an additional fee of $15.00 for same-day service.

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified North Carolina death certificate.

See our complete list of resources for North Carolina.

  • State-By-State Resources
Related Content
  • Everplans Linkedin
  • Everplans Instagram
  • Everplans Facebook
Subscribe to Everplans newsletter
App Store
HIPAA Compliant
ADA Site Compliance
©2024 Everplans
Everplans is not a licensed healthcare provider, medical professional, law firm, or financial advisory firm, and the employees of Everplans are not acting as your healthcare providers, medical professionals, attorneys, or financial advisors.