Run your home and life with confidence.
Get started for free today!
Sign Up
Be Organized and Run Your Life with Confidence

Maryland Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in Maryland, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.

Qualifications

The following people may request death certificates from the state of Maryland:           

  • Surviving relative of the deceased
  • Authorized representative of a surviving relative of the deceased
  • Funeral director who was in charge of the final disposition of the body of the deceased
  • An individual who has a proven legal need
  • Court of law

Cost

The fee to search for a death certificate is $12.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate or a Certification of Record Search. Each additional copy of the record is also $12.00. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the "Division of Vital Records." Cash is not accepted. Fees are not refundable.

Required Information

  • Your name
  • Your relationship to the deceased
  • Your address
  • Your phone number
  • Your email address
  • Photocopy of current, government-issued photo ID
  • Name of the deceased
  • Date of death
  • Age at death
  • Sex
  • Place of death
  • Name of funeral home
  • Reason for requesting certificate
  • A self-addressed stamped envelope

Submitting Your Request

Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:

Division of Vital Records

P.O. Box 68760

Baltimore, Maryland 21215-0036

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified Maryland death certificate.

See our complete list of resources for Maryland.

State-By-State Health, Legal, And End-Of-Life Resources

Grief Support & Loss