Skip to content
Everplans Logo

Kansas Death Certificate

Below is the information you'll need in order to obtain a death certificate in Kansas, including qualifications, cost, required information, where to submit your application, and a link to the application you'll need to fill out.


Kansas death certificates are only available to immediate family, a legal representative, or anyone who can prove a direct interest, such as a named beneficiary or someone who jointly owns property with the deceased. The record must be necessary for the determination of personal or property rights. Proof of legal representation, direct interest, or written authorization is required if the requestor is not named on the record or an immediate family member.


The fee to search for a death certificate is $15.00, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate. Each additional copy of the record is also $15.00. There is an additional fee of $11.00 for requests made over the phone, and all phone orders must be paid with a credit card. Requests made by mail can be paid with check or money order. Checks or money orders should be made payable to "Kansas Vital Statistics." Cash is not accepted, except if the request is made in person. Fees are not refundable.

Required Information

  • Date of death
  • Race
  • Sex
  • Place of death (city, county)
  • Marital status at death
  • Name of spouse
  • Date of birth (or age at death)
  • Place of birth
  • City/county where the deceased is buried
  • Your name
  • Your mailing address
  • Reason for your request
  • Daytime phone number
  • Your relationship to the deceased
  • Photocopy of a current, government-issued photo ID

Acceptable forms of photo ID include:

  • Driver's license
  • State ID card
  • Passport or visa
  • Military ID

Submitting Your Request

By Mail:
Send the completed application and the appropriate fee to:
Office of Vital Statistics
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 120
Topeka, KS 66612-2221

By Phone:
Call 785-296-3253 between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm, Central Time, Monday through Friday. Payment for requests made over the phone must be made by credit card.

In Person:
To make a request in person, go to:
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 120
Topeka, KS 66612

The office is open from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Payment may be made by cash, check, money order, or credit card.

Download the Application

Click here to download the application for a certified Kansas death certificate in English.

Click here to download the application for a certified Kansas death certificate in Spanish.

See our complete list of resources for Kansas.

  • State-By-State Resources
Related Content
  • Everplans Linkedin
  • Everplans Instagram
  • Everplans Facebook
Subscribe to Everplans newsletter
App Store
HIPAA Compliant
ADA Site Compliance
©2024 Everplans
Everplans is not a licensed healthcare provider, medical professional, law firm, or financial advisory firm, and the employees of Everplans are not acting as your healthcare providers, medical professionals, attorneys, or financial advisors.